Film summary

THE FILM « VERDON SECRET 3D » A SENSATIONAL EXPERIENCE GUARANTEED !

« VERDON SECRET 3D » DAILY PROJECTION ON A GIANT SCREEN IN GREOUX-LES-BAINS

trescaire-belvedaire2

The film-shooting was a real challenge due to the difficult access to most locations demanding long walks with the equipment, some spots even required climbing. The outcome is « astonishing » ! Directed by François Bertrand in 3 dimensions, « VERDON SECRET 3D » will take you to the heart of the greatest canyons of Europe to discover « Les Gorges du Verdon » like no one ever had before. Daily projections on the giant screen of the Ecociné Verdon in Gréoux-les-Bains, « VERDON SECRET 3D » will soon appear on screens all over France, and abroad, in cinema halls equipped with IMAX technology. The film is inspired by the real story of the adventurous exploration of the Verdon grand canyon in 1905…

 

ON THE TRAIL OF THE CANYON’S PIONEERS, AN ADVENTURE WORTHY OF JULES VERNES !

Based on the encounter of two opposite persons in the canyon, « VERDON SECRET 3D » relates the story of Hidalgo who decides to experience, a 100 years later, the descent of the Verdon canyons on the track of Edouard Alfred Martel, pioneer and 1st speleologist.
Hidalgo, a cabinetmaker, makes a replica of the original canoe and takes off equipped like the pioneers of the Verdon.


Before long, he realises how irrational and dangerous the expedition is. He will meet a young girl, Clara, of African origin, modern and connected, his opposite, and who embodies a guardian angel.
He will try to communicate his passion for Martel and the extraordinary personalities who were the pioneers of the canyons, but the events will provoke an unexpected end.

« VERDON SECRET 3D» occurs during two periods and reveals throughout the story, which is based on authentic facts, the wonders of the Verdon, parts of which have stayed inaccessible to the general public till today, since no path allows one to discover the last stretch before the lake, only known to mountaineers and experienced kayak athletes. It is an invitation to the discovery of the canyons, which attracts 1,5 million tourists every year.

 

AN « UNUSUAL » FILM-SHOOTING ENHANCING A NEW APPROACH TO THE VERDON

The idea of « VERDON SECRET 3D » germinated in Jean-Marc Paris’ – President of the Ecociné Verdon – mind in 1995. Jean-Marc Paris is a keen mountaineer and climber, While visiting the Colorado Grand Canyon he discovered the spectacular documentary film on a giant screen, the « Colorado, Hidden Secrets ». Twenty years later he achieved his dream by co-producing the film « VERDON SECRET 3D » with film-director and producer François Bertrand. Jean-Marc comments : « My wish has been that the spectators would grip to the armrests of their seats while watching the film VERDON SECRET 3D ! ». It was a considerable challenge to both technical and human capabilities.Almost two tonnes of material were transported on rafts, twelve kayak and mountain experts accompanied the film-team on twenty shooting locations, some were reached after a four hour hike daily from the nearest route, others had to be reached by rafting or climbing. The bet was taken up, and won, « VERDON SECRET 3D » fascinates with its grandiose landscapes and its history.

 

AN EXCEPTIONAL SITE

The Verdon canyons are situated in the region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, straddling two Départements, Alpes de Haute-Provence (04) and the Var (05). A unique site in Europe, through which runs a green-emerald coloured river, the Verdon. The river springs up near the Col d’Allos, in the mountain range of the « Trois Evêchés » and flows into the Durance near Vinon-sur-Verdon after crossing 175 kilometres of the territory, a 100 of which in the canyons. The Verdon, becoming a protected natural site in 1990, includes more than 2500 climbing paths and the canyons attract hikers and canoe/kayak amateurs, paragliders, and where rafting, elastic-jumping and canyoning are practiced.

 

A FILM-SHOOTING RESPECTFUL TO THE RENVIRONMENT

Jean-Marc Paris meets two targets with « VERDON SECRET 3D », promoting the area of the Verdon and awakening environmental consciousness. Completely immersed in the territory and its history, the touristic approach of « VERDON SECRETS 3D » formed the subject of the « Ecotournage » charter due to which, and with the help of the partnership with the Regional Nature Parc of the Verdon, 1% of the returns are donated to the association « 1% pour le Verdon » whose aim is to develop intelligent tourism in the Verdon (cf page 6). In partnership with the Parc Naturel du Verdon and the Tourist Office of Gréoux-les-Bains a map, inspired by the movie, was drawn showing the best sites to visit, called « discover the best sites of the film » , offering an experience to prolong the adventure and living it for real. Excursions with local guides depart from the Ecociné Verdon in Gréoux to take you on the track of Martel and the boxwood gatherers.

 

ECOCINÉ VERDON, THE LIFE-SIZE CINEMA

The place to be for cultural events and the promotion of the territory, ECOCINÉ VERDON is above all a place for artistic discovery. Besides the projections of « VERDON SECRET 3D », namely 800 every year, the movie hall is showing current movies classified as « Art et d’Essai », with high quality sound and image. The Ecociné Verdon and its premises offer the possibility of organising events in the presence of actors and film-directors, with the ambition of becoming an inevitable stop when visiting the lakes and the canyons of the Verdon.

 

 

GRÉOUX-LES-BAINS, A VILLAGE IN THE PROVENCE, THE GATEWAY TO THE VERDON CANYONS

The ideal starting point to discover the charms of the Provence and the Regional Nature Park of the Verdon, Gréoux-les-Bains, a typical village of the Provence with multiple facets, is situated between the Verdon and the Luberon, it is also on the crossroad of four départements : Var, Vaucluse, Bouches-du-Rhône and Alpes de Haute-Provence. It is well known for its thermal waters (3rd thermal station in France), and therefore was described by the author Jean Giono as the « romantic oasis of the Verdon ». Offering multiple facilities and infrastructure, for example the « Centre des Congrès » where seminars and conferences are held; hotels and other touristic facilities; tour guides; open air activities; Gréoux benefits of a long touristic season stretching from March to end November.

 

THE PARTNERS OF THE FILM « VERDON SECRET 3D », THE REGIONAL NATURE PARC OF THE VERDON AND THE ASSOCIATION « 1% POUR LE VERDON »

Under the initiative of the president of the regional nature park, Bernard Clap, and the president of Ecociné Jean-Marc Paris, a pioneering partnership was put in place with the association « 1% Pour le Verdon », namely 1% of each entry ticket to the film « VERDON SECRET 3D » is donated to the association with the aim of improving the tourism infrastructure and security in the canyons of the Verdon. In addition, ahead of every screening, a 90 second clip is shown promoting the Verdon sites and appealing for the preservation of the Verdon environment and its canyons.

 

KEY NUMBERS

« VERDON SECRET 3D » : 20 film-shooting locations. / one month film-shooting // 4 years locating sites // 50 minutes movie // 12 kayak experts and mountaineers // 3 rafts for equipment transport to filming locations // a 1,5 million budget // 900 projections of « VERDON SECRET 3D » foreseen per year in the Ecocine Verdon, Gréoux-les-Bains.

THE VERDON GRAND CANYON : 36 km long dominated by up to 700m high rocks // 1,5 million visitors per year.

 

Verdon Secret trailer

Résumé du film

LE FILM « VERDON SECRET 3D » SENSATIONS FORTES GARANTIES !

«VERDON SECRET 3D » DIFFUSÉ
À GRÉOUX-LES-BAINS TOUS LES JOURS SUR ECRAN GEANT

trescaire-belvedaire2

Son tournage a constitué un véritable défi technique, avec des lieux nécessitant parfois jusqu’à 4 heures de marche ou accessibles uniquement en kayak ou par escalade, mais le résultat est « dépaysant » ! Tourné en 3 dimensions, le film « VERDON SECRET 3D » – réalisé par François Bertrand vous amène au cœur du plus grand canyon d’Europe pour découvrir les gorges du Verdon comme vous ne les avez jamais vues. Diffusé tous les jours à l’Ecociné Verdon, cinéma de Gréoux-les-Bains et prochainement, dans les salles équipées de la technologie Imax en France et à l’étranger. Ce film, inspiré de faits réels, retrace l’aventure de l’exploration du grand canyon du Verdon en 1905…

 

UNE AVENTURE DIGNE DE JULES VERNE SUR LES TRACES DES PIONNIERS DU CANYON !

Basé sur la rencontre de deux personnes qu’à priori tout oppose mais qui vont devoir s’entraider, « VERDON SECRET 3D » raconte l’histoire d’Hidalgo qui décide de revivre, 100 ans plus tard, la descente intégrale du Canyon du Verdon sur les traces d’Edouard Alfred Martel, père de la spéléologie. Ébéniste, Hidalgo fabrique une réplique du canoë original et tente l’aventure, équipé comme l’étaient les pionniers du Verdon.


Mais rapidement son projet semble déraisonnable et dangereux. Il va rencontrer Clara, son opposé. Jeune fille moderne et connectée, d’origine africaine, elle a tout de l’ange gardien. Il tentera de lui communiquer sa passion pour Martel et pour les personnages hauts en couleur de cette première descente mais les évènements vont décider d’une issue imprévue.

Se déroulant sur deux époques, « VERDON SECRET 3D » révèle, à travers cette histoire basée sur des faits authentiques, les merveilles du Verdon inaccessibles au grand public puisqu’aujourd’hui encore, aucun sentier ne permet de découvrir le dernier tronçon du canyon – avant le lac – uniquement connu des alpinistes ou kayakistes expérimentés. Une invitation à la découverte des gorges qui attirent, chaque année, 1,5 million de touristes.

 

UN TOURNAGE « HORS-NORME » POUR UN REGARD TOTALEMENT NEUF SUR LE VERDON

L’idée de « VERDON SECRET 3D » a germé en 1995 dans la tête de Jean-Marc Paris – Président d’Ecociné Verdon et passionné d’alpinisme – en visitant le Grand Canyon du Colorado et découvrant « Colorado, Hidden secrets », un documentaire spectaculaire diffusé sur écran géant. Un peu plus de 20 ans plus tard, il réalise son rêve en coproduisant « VERDON SECRET 3D » au côté de François Bertrand, réalisateur et producteur. « Je souhaitais que les spectateurs s’accrochent aux accoudoirs en voyant « VERDON SECRET 3D » ! » commente Jean-Marc Paris. Pour y arriver, des moyens considérables tant techniques qu’humains ont été mis en place. Au total, près de deux tonnes de matériel ont été transportées sur trois rafts. Douze kayakistes et professionnels de la montagne ont par ailleurs accompagné l’équipe de tournage sur une vingtaine de sites de tournage, dont une majorité nécessitant plus de 4 heures de marche quotidienne du fait de leur éloignement de la moindre route et certains accessibles uniquement en kayak ou en escalade. Pari relevé pour « VERDON SECRET 3D » qui fascine tant par la grandiosité de ses paysages que par son histoire.

 

UN LIEU EXCEPTIONNEL

Situé dans la région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, à cheval sur les départements des Alpes de Haute-Provence (04) et le Var (83), les Gorges du Verdon sont un site unique en Europe, traversé par une rivière aux couleurs émeraudes, le Verdon. Celle-ci prend sa source près du col d’Allos, dans le massif des Trois Évêchés et se jette dans la Durance, près de Vinon-sur-Verdon, après avoir parcouru 175 kilomètres dont 100 km de gorges. Devenu site naturel protégé en 1990, le Verdon renferme plus de 2500 voies d’escalade, les gorges du Verdon sont également très prisées des randonneurs et amateurs de canoë-kayak, parapente, rafting, saut à l’élastique, base jump ou encore canyonisme.

 

UN TOURNAGE RESPECTUEUX DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT

Avec « VERDON SECRET 3D », c’est un double objectif qui est visé par Jean-Marc Paris : la promotion de la destination d’une part mais aussi la sensibilisation sur l’environnement. En complète immersion avec le territoire et avec son histoire, l’approche touristique de « VERDON SECRET 3D » a fait l’objet d’une charte d’Ecotournage et permet, grâce au partenariat noué avec le Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon, de reverser 1% de la recette de la billetterie à l’association « 1% pour le Verdon » (cf page 6) ayant pour objet l’amélioration de l’accueil touristique dans le Verdon. Une carte intitulée « découvrez les plus beaux lieux du film » réalisée en partenariat avec le Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon et l’Office de Tourisme de Gréoux-les-Bains, permettra par ailleurs de prolonger l’aventure en venant se replonger dans l’ambiance de « VERDON SECRET 3D ». De même, des excursions avec des guides locaux sur les traces de Martel et des anciens cueilleurs de buis sont proposées depuis le cinéma de Gréoux les Bains.

 

ECOCINÉ VERDON, LE CINÉMA GRANDEUR NATURE

Entre animation culturelle et mise en valeur du territoire, ECOCINÉ VERDON est avant tout un lieu de découverte artistique. Ce cinéma original prévoit outre la projection de « VERDON SECRET 3D » sur écran géant – à raison de 800 séances par an -, la projection de films actuels, avec une part importante de projections de films classés d’art et d’essai avec une très grande qualité d’image et de son. Le lieu permet par ailleurs d’organiser des manifestations en présence d’acteurs et réalisateurs et souhaite se positionner comme un passage incontournable à toute visite dans les gorges et lacs du Verdon.

 

 

GRÉOUX-LES-BAINS, UN VILLAGE PROVENÇAL AUX PORTES DES GORGES DU VERDON

Point de départ idéal pour découvrir les charmes de la Provence et du Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon, Gréoux-les-Bains est un village provençal aux multiples facettes, situé entre le Verdon et le Luberon et à la croisée de 4 départements : Var, Vaucluse, Bouches-du-Rhône et Alpes de Haute Provence. Qualifié par Jean Giono « d’oasis romantique du Verdon », cette commune touristique réputée pour les bienfaits de ses eaux – 3ème station thermale française – dispose par ailleurs de tous les atouts nécessaires pour organiser des congrès et séminaires grâce notamment à son Centre des Congrès mais également ses hôtels et son offre exceptionnelle d’activités de pleine nature bénéficiant d’une saison touristique s’étendant de mars à fin novembre.

 

LE PARC NATUREL RÉGIONAL DU VERDON, PARTENAIRE DU FILM AVEC L’ASSOCIATION « 1% POUR LE VERDON »

À l’initiative de son Président Bernard Clap et de Jean-Marc Paris, un partenariat original a été mis en place avec le Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon : 1% du prix d’entrée de « VERDON SECRET 3D » est reversé à l’Association « 1% pour le Verdon » pour améliorer l’accueil et la sécurité sur le site du canyon du Verdon. Avant chaque séance du film, un appel pour un comportement responsable est lancé grâce à la diffusion d’un clip de 90 secondes. Ce clip rappellera que, le Verdon se trouvant au cœur d’un Parc Naturel Régional, il est indispensable de continuer à le protéger.

 

LES CHIFFRES CLÉS

« VERDON SECRET 3D » : Une vingtaine de sites de tournage // un mois de tournage // 4 années de repérage //50 minutes de film // 12 kayakistes et professionnels de la montagne // 3 rafts pour acheminer le matériel jusqu’aux lieux de tournage // Un budget de 1,5 M€ // 900 projections de « VERDON SECRET 3D » prévues par an à l’Ecociné Verdon de Gréoux-les-Bains.

LE GRAND CANYON DU VERDON : 36 km de long dominé par des falaises allant jusqu’à 700 mètres de hauteur //1,5 million de visiteurs par an

 

bande annonce Verdon Secret